FDU-Florham wins slugfest

FDU-Florham wins slugfest

Devils take 19-13 decision over McDaniel in game with 37 combined hits

WINTER HAVEN, Fla. – Dan Pregno went 4-for-5 with three RBIs and four runs scored to lead FDU-Florham to a 19-13 victory over McDaniel at the RussMatt Central Florida Invitational in non-conference baseball action on Monday.

Russell Coover (Schuylkill Haven, Pa./Blue Mountain) notched a 4-for-5 performance for the Green Terror (1-2), adding four RBIs and three runs scoerd.

Four other starters rapped out three hits apiece for the Devils (4-1), who pounded out 20 hits and plated 19 runs in the win.

A Joey Santillo two-run single keyed a top of the first inning that staked Florham to an early 4-0 lead.

The Devils extended the lead to 8-0 after four innings before a two-run sacrifice fly from Marc Hubbert extended the lead to 12-0 in the top of the fifth.

A two-run double from Coover and RBI doubles from Sergio Nieto (Mameroneck, N.Y./Rye Neck) and Andrew Worm (Easton, Md./Easton) in the bottom of the frame pulled McDaniel within 12-4.

Pregno countered with a two-run single in the sixth and Hubbert added an RBI base knock to key a three-run inning to push the lead to 15-4.

Four singles, two walks and a pair of RBI ground outs highlighted a six-run sixth for the Green Terror to make it a 15-10 game before run-producing hits from Coover and Matthew Pace (Baltimore, Md./North County) made it 15-12 in the seventh.

A Hubbert two-run home run in the eighth ignited another four-run frame before a Worm solo home run set the final margin.

The Green Terror returns to action against Fitchburg State on Tuesday. Game time is 6 p.m.

Score by Inning                             1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    -     R   H   E
FDU-Florham (4-1)                         4    1    2    1    4    3    0    4    0    -     19   20   3
McDaniel (1-2)                               0    0    0    0    4    6    2    1    0    -     13   17   4

Jake Hazen (5), Mike Winters (6), Chris Laudati (6), Matt LaTorre (7) and Marc Hubbert; Brian Rosato, Zach Jones (5), Tyler Oakes (7) and Ray Hart, Chris Longo (7). WP: Haze. LP: Rosato (0-1). S: none. SO-BB: Hazen 3-1, Winters 0-2, Laudati 1-0, LaTorre 1-0; Rosato 2-3, Jones 0-0, Oakes 3-5. 2B: Matt Joiner (F), Ryan Fandel (F), Russell Coover 2 (M), Sergio Nieto (M), Andrew Worm 2 (M). 3B: Dan Pregno (F), Steve Serminerio (F). HR: Marc Hubbert (F), Andrew Worm (M).