Late rally give McDaniel win

Late rally give McDaniel win

Green Terror plates four in eighth inning for win over Sewanee

WINTER HAVEN, Fla. – Brandon Kline (Myersville, Md./Middletown) went 4-for-4 with a walk to lead McDaniel to a 6-3 win over Sewanee at the RussMatt Central Florida Invitational in non-conference baseball action on Wednesday.

Joe Reilly went 2-for-3 to lead the Tigers (5-10), who rapped out 11 hits but were limited to three runs.

Chris Longo (Monroe, N.Y./Monroe-Woodbury) and Sergio Nieto (Mameroneck, N.Y/Rye Neck) added two hits that included an eighth-inning home run apiece for the Green Terror (2-3), who had 12 hits on the day.

Tied at 2-all, Nieto led off the eighth with a home run before Patrick Christopher (Union Bridge, N.J./St. John Vianney) drew a two-out walk.

Ricky LaSota (Burtonsville, Md./Paint Branch) followed with a two-out double before Longo went yard for a 6-2 lead.

A Michael Joseph leadoff home run in the top of the ninth set the final margin.

A Nieto RBI single in the bottom of the first scored Andrew Worm (Easton, Md./Easton) for a 1-0 lead.

Chris Mauro went deep with two outs in the fourth to knot the game at 1-all.

A Worm triple in the fifth followed by an RBI single from Russell Coover (Schuylkill Haven, Pa./Blue Mountain) put McDaniel back on top by one an RBI groundout in the seventh evened the game once again.

Zach Jones (Frederick, Md./Tuscarora) fanned seven over the first seven innings but finished with a no decision. Joe Drzonsc (Albany, N.Y./Notre Dame Bishop Gibbons) picked up the win in relief.

The Green Terror returns to action against Endicott on Thursday. The first game of the doubleheader begins at 3 p.m.

Score by Inning                             1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    -     R   H   E
Sewanee (5-10)                               0    0    0    1    0    0    1    0    1    -     3    11   2
McDaniel (2-3)                               1    0    0    0    1    0    0    4    x    -     6    12   0

Jacob Simpson, Colin Barrera (8) and Michael Joseph; Zach Jones, Joe Drzonsc and Chris Longo. WP: Drzonsc (1-0). LP: Simpson. S: none. SO-BB: Simpson 0-0, Barrera 1-2; Jones 7-1, Drzonsc 1-0. 2B: Joe Reilly (S), Ricky LaSota (M), Chris Longo (M). 3B: Andrew Worm (M). HR: Chris Mauro (S), Michael Joseph (S), Sergio Nieto (M), Chris Longo (M).