McDaniel goes 2-1 in CC quad

Brock Glotfelty © 2010 David Sinclair/McDaniel College
Brock Glotfelty © 2010 David Sinclair/McDaniel College

Goretsas, Glotfelty notch trio of wins for Green Terror

WESTMINSTER, Md. - Brock Glotfelty (Grantsville, Md./Northern Garrett) went 3-0, including notching a win in sudden victory and a 1-0 win to lead McDaniel to a 2-1 day in Centennial Conference (CC) wrestling action on Sunday.

The Green Terror (9-7, 3-1 CC) dropped a 31-10 decision to 13th-ranked Merchant Marine Academy to open the day before downing Stevens 22-13 and Washington and Lee, 38-9.

Tommy Goretsas (Hampstead, Md./North Carroll) added three wins, including a first-period fall.

In the opening match, the Mariners (8-7, 2-0 CC) put together a string of five consecutive victories to start their 2-0 showing.

Back-to-back pins from Dan Twito (157) and Vincent Renaut (165) sparked the stretch of 25 straight points. Eric Vincent (197) capped the span with a second-period fall.

In a rematch of the 2009 CC title bout, Glotfelty used a takedown midway through the first sudden-victory period to notch a 3-1 win. Glotfelty and Judson Connell exchanged escapes early in the second and third periods, respectively, to move to the extra period.

Jordan Alfaro and Goretsas exchanged decisions to open the match, including an 8-1 win from Goretsas.

After Garrick Skubon notched a 7-0 win at 141, Brent Lowe (Dumfries, Va./Forest Park) recorded a 13-0 win at 149 behind 10 first-period points.

Against the Ducks (3-6, 1-1 CC), three straight wins to open the match gave the hosts a 13-0 lead.

After Earl Eppard's (Baltimore, Md./Lansdowne) 13-4 win at 125, Goretsas notched a fall in 1:37 and Michael Tancredi (Wall, N.J./Wall Twp.) recorded a 6-2 win at 141.

Four consecutive wins, including a Joey Favia 12-3 major decision at 165 evened the match at 13 before the Green Terror won the close matches in each of the final three bouts.

Will Yeo (Lexington Park, Md./Great Mills) started the stretch with a 2-1 victory in the first tiebreaker period. Yeo and Vincent Termini exchanged escapes early in the final two periods of regulation and neither wrestler could take any points in the one-minute sudden-victory period. Yeo was in the down position for the first 30-second tiebreaker session and earned an escape 11 seconds into the frame before holding on from the top position for the second 30-second session.

In nearly a carbon copy of the 184 match, Joe Camlin (Westminster, Md./Winters Mill) finished the 197 bout midway through the sudden victory period for a 3-1 win over Ernie Guaimano.

Glotfelty earned a second-period escape for the lone point of the heavyweight bout and seal the win for McDaniel.

In the match with the Generals (1-6, 0-4 CC), the Green Terror won seven bouts, including forfeit wins from Goretsas and Glotfelty.

Lowe (1:02), Yeo (3:38) and Camlin (2:38) all notched pins while Forrester had a major decision (13-4) and Eppart won by decision (5-2).

The Green Terror returns to action in a tri-match at Centenary (N.J.) on Friday. Action begins at 7 p.m.

No. 13 Merchant Marine 31, McDaniel 10
Jordan Alfaro (MM) dec. Earl Eppard 6-1; 133: Tommy Goretsas (Mc) dec. Ian Nisely 8-1; 141: Garrick Skubon (MM) dec. Michael Tancredi 7-0; 149: Brent Lowe (Mc) maj. dec. Martin Bell 13-0; 157: Dan Twito (MM) pinned Matt Peters 5:53; 165: Vincent Renaut (MM) pinned Torin Lehmann 2:56; 174: Justin Diesel (MM) maj. dec. Scott Forrester 12-1; 184: Erik Schott (MM) dec. Will Yeo 5-1; 197: Eric Vincent (MM) pinned Joe Camlin 4:11; HWT: Brock Glotfelty (Mc) dec. Judson Connell 3-1 (SV1).

McDaniel 22, Stevens 13
Earl Eppard (M) maj. dec. Brad Warren 13-4; 133: Tommy Goretsas (M) pinned Ryan Neugebauer 1:37; 141: Michael Tancredi (M) dec. Kyle Brisson 6-2; 149: Ryan Bridge (S) dec. Brent Lowe 2-1; 157: Charles Favia (S) dec. Matt Peters 7-1; 165: Joey Favia (S) maj. dec. Tony Vorndran 12-3; 174: William Sharkey (S) dec. Scott Forrester 6-4; 184: Will Yeo (M) dec. Vincent Termini 2-1 (TB1); 197: Joe Camlin (M) dec. Ernie Guaimano 3-1 (SV1); HWT: Brock Glotfelty (M) dec. James Roarty 1-0.

McDaniel 38, Washington and Lee 9
Earl Eppard (M) dec. Ben Ersing 5-2; 133: Tommy Goretsas (M) won by forfeit; 141: Samuel Campbell (W) dec. Michael Tancredi 5-3; 149: Brent Lowe (M) pinned Justin Welch 1:02; 157: David Dennis (W) dec. Matt Peters 6-2; 165: Keith Jaworski (W) dec. Tony Vorndran 5-1; 174: Scott Forrester (M) maj. dec. Eric Veres 13-4; 184: Will Yeo (M) pinned James Williams 3:38; 197: Joe Camlin (M) pinned Richard Knack 2:38; HWT: Brock Glotfelty (M) won by forfeit.