Lycoming rides middle weights to win

Tom Goretsas © 2010 David Sinclair/McDaniel College
Tom Goretsas © 2010 David Sinclair/McDaniel College

Warriors take five straight bouts to down McDaniel

WESTMINSTER, Md. – Troy Hayre notched a first-period pin to seal a 24-17 victory for Lycoming over McDaniel in non-conference wrestling action on Wednesday.

Tom Goretsas (Hampstead, Md./North Carroll) led the Green Terror (0-3) with a 45-second pin.

Trailing 9-3, the Warriors (1-1) recorded five straight wins to secure the match

After Mike Tancredi (Wall, N.J./Wall Twp.) extended the lead to 9-3 with a 9-2 victory at 141, Isaiah Britton and Colton Eyer recorded a pair of decision wins to even the match at 9-all. Britton was a 6-0 winner at 149 while Eyer won 7-3 at 157.

A reversal late in the second period at 165 gave Dave Smith a 5-4 advantage before he added a takedown and riding time point in the third period for an 8-4 victory.

In the final minute of the first period at 174, Jeff Thomas rolled a reversal into an immediate pin to stretch the Warriors' lead to 18-9 with the 2-minute, 22-second fall before Hayre wrapped up the match in 1:58.

Knotted at 2-all but with Kyle Crouthamel holding enough advantage for the riding-time point, Will Yeo (Lexington Park, Md./Great Mills) notched a reversal in the final minute of the third period to take the necessary two points for a 4-3 win.

At heavyweight, Brock Glotfelty (Grantsville, Md./Northern Garrett) allowed a late escape before a takedown in the final 15 seconds and riding time gave him a 16-1 technical fall victory.

Stephen Hinton opened the night with a defensive 3-1 victory to give Lycoming a 3-0 lead in the match.

Goretsas notched McDaniel's fastest fall of the season to turn a three-point deficit into a three-point advantage.

McDaniel returns to action at Ursinus Fall Brawl on Saturday. Action begins at 9 a.m.

Lycoming 24, McDaniel 17

125: Stephen Hinton (L) dec. Earl Eppard 3-1; 133: Tommy Goretsas (M) pinned Terrell Nixon 0:45; 141: Mike Tancredi (M) dec. Andrew Lewis 9-2; 149: Isaiah Britton (L) dec. Sean McGarry 6-0; 157: Colton Eyer (L) dec. Anthony Powers 7-3; 165: Dave Smith (L) vs. Matt Peters 8-4; 174: Jeff Thomas (L) pinned Jacob Reik 2:22; 184: Troy Hayre (L) pinned Brad Thomas 1:58; 197: Will Yeo (M) dec. Kyle Crouthamel 4-3; HWT: Brock Glotfelty (M) tech. fell Zach Eckstrom 16-1 (7:00). (17-24)