McDaniel drops Gettysburg

Tom Goretsas © 2011 David Sinclair/McDaniel College
Tom Goretsas © 2011 David Sinclair/McDaniel College

Green Terror records four pins en route to win in CC opener

WESTMINSTER, Md. – Will Yeo (Lexington Park, Md./Great Mills) secured the match with a 3-minute, 53-second fall to lead McDaniel to a 31-13 victory over Gettysburg in Centennial Conference (CC) wrestling action on Wednesday.

Brock Glotfelty (Grantsville, Md./Northern Garrett) capped the night with a his fastest pin of the season – a 14-second fall – for the Green Terror (3-5, 1-0 CC), who notched four pins and six bout victories in its first conference action.

Joe Fiore led the Bullets (2-4, 1-1 CC) with a major decision at 157.

Abe Evans opened the match with a 7-3 decision at 125 before Tom Goretsas (Hampstead, Md./North Carroll) turned Matt Spano on his head for a third-period pin.

Mike Tancredi (Wall, N.J./Wall Twp.) stretched the lead to 12-3 with a second straight third-period fall.

A Sean McGarry (Ocean City, Md./Stephen Decatur) 10-2 victory pushed the advantage to 16-3.

Fiore countered with a 10-1 win of his own at 157 to snap the run of three straight McDaniel wins.

Dan Grabfelder (165) and Jared Leon (174) closed the deficit to 16-13 back-to-back decisions. Grabfelder took his match 10-5 before Leon won 5-3 on a third-period reversal.

Scott Forrester (Manchester, N.J./Manchester Twp.) used a third-period reversal to propel himself to a 6-3 victory and extend McDaniel's lead back to six.

The Green Terror returns to action at the Waynesburg Invitational on Saturday. Action begins at 10 a.m.

McDaniel 31, Gettysburg 13
Abe Evans (G) dec. PJ Farinella 7-3; 133: Tom Goretsas (M) pinned Matt Spano 5:48; 141: Michael Tancredi (M) pinned Dan Traficanti 6:20; 149: Sean McGarry (M) maj. dec. Matt Danielson 10-2; 157: Joe Fiore (G) maj. dec. Torin Lehmann 10-1; 165: Dan Grabfelder (G) dec. Matt Peters 10-5; 174: Jared Leon (G) dec. Chris Urps 5-3; 184: Scott Forrester (M) dec. DJ Neri 6-3; 197: Will Yeo (M) pinned Marshall Puls 3:53; HWT: Brock Glotfelty (M) pinned Bobby Christopher 0:14.