Swarthmore opens CC slate with win

Rachel Walega © 2010 David Sinclair/McDaniel College
Rachel Walega © 2010 David Sinclair/McDaniel College

Garnet drops McDaniel 131-73 in Green Terror opener

SWARTHMORE, Pa. – Erin Lowe was a triple winner to lead Swarthmore to a 131-73 victory over McDaniel in the Centennial Conference (CC) women's swimming opener for both teams on Saturday.

The Garnet (1-1, 1-0 CC) recorded eight first-place finishes, including the first six individual events.

Kerrie Vanscoy (Frederick, Md./Tuscarora) and Rachel Walega (Ambler, Pa./Wissahickon) notched individual victories for the Green Terror (0-1, 0-1 CC) in Jeff Hiestand's first meet as head coach.

Emma Duesterhaus (Spartanburg, S.C./Spartanburg Day), Walega, Brittney Lenz (Pasadena, Md./Chesapeake) and Gaby Cifuentes (Princeton, N.J./Princeton) opened the proceedings with a victory in the 200 medley relay, combining for a time of 1:54.44.

SaSa Bedolfe won her first of two individual events, touching first in the 1,000 freestyle (11:30.30) to start the stretch of six straight wins for Swarthmore.

Bedolfe added a victory in the 500 free with a time of 5:37.93.

Lowe followed Bedolfe's win with a victory in the 200 free (2:02.03) before touching first in the 100 free (55.93) and as the anchor of the 200 freestyle relay, which combined to swim a time of 1:45.40.

Vanscoy won the 100 backstroke for McDaniel in a time of 1:02.64 while Walega was victorious in the 100 breaststroke in a time of 1:09.02.

The Green Terror returns to action at Gettysburg on Wednesday. Meet time is 7 p.m.

Swarthmore 131, McDaniel 73

Event Winners: 200 Medley Relay – McDaniel A (Emma Duesterhaus, Rachel Walega, Brittany Lenz, Gaby Cifuentes) 1:54.44; 1000 Freestyle – SaSa Bedolfe (S) 11:30.30; 200 Freestyle – Erin Lowe (S) 2:02.03; 50 Freestyle – Becky Teng (S) 26.50; 200 IM – Stephanie Su (S) 2:22.12; 100 Butterfly – Hannah Gotwals (S) 1:02.50; 100 Freestyle – Lowe (S) 55.93; 100 Backstroke – Kerrie Vanscoy (M) 1:02.64; 500 Freestyle – Bedolfe (S) 5:37.93; 100 Breaststroke – Walega (M) 1:09.02; 200 Freestyle Relay – Swarthmore A (Sarah Eppley, Becky Tang, Chelsea Brett, Lowe) 1:45.40.