Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Two named to CC Silver Anniversary Team

Katie Haley makes the Centennial Conference Silver Anniversary Team for women's basketball.
Katie Haley

LANCASTER, Pa. – The Centennial Conference (CC) is celebrating 25 years as one of the elite small college athletic conferences in the country with the announcement of its Silver Anniversary teams, highlighting the best of the best over our first quarter-century.

For inclusion on a Silver Anniversary team, a student must have a degree from one of the Conference institutions and met one of the following qualifications:
• 3-time or 4-time first-team All-Centennial performer
• 2-time Centennial Conference Player of the Year
• 1st team All-America AND 2-time first-team All-Centennial performer
• 2-time All-America (1st, 2nd or 3rd team)

For individual sports such as swimming and track and field, the accomplishments must have occurred in the same event.

Fifteen players were named to the Silver Anniversary team in women's basketball.

Among those honorees was the Green Terror's Katie Haley '98 and Lindsey Nichols '16. Haley was a two-time All-American, earning the honor in 1997 and 1998 to go with her first-team all-conference selections those seasons. Nichols was a two-time Player of the Year, earning the honor in 2015 and 2016. She was also first-team all-conference both seasons.

The purpose of the Centennial Conference is to provide for athletic competition among institutions that share high academic aspirations and are committed to the importance of the total educational experience for students engaged in sports. Its full-time members include Bryn Mawr, Dickinson, Franklin & Marshall, Gettysburg, Haverford, McDaniel, Muhlenberg, Swarthmore, Ursinus and Washington Colleges, along with Johns Hopkins University.

The Conference was founded in 1981 as the Centennial Football Conference and began competition as an all-sports conference in the fall of 1993. The Conference crowns champions in 24 sports.