Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Three named to CC Silver Anniversary Team

Kristy Costa makes the Centennial Conference Silver Anniversary Team for women's outdoor track and field.
Kristy Costa

LANCASTER, Pa. – The Centennial Conference (CC) is celebrating 25 years as one of the elite small college athletic conferences in the country with the announcement of its Silver Anniversary teams, highlighting the best of the best over our first quarter-century.

For inclusion on a Silver Anniversary team, a student must have a degree from one of the Conference institutions and met one of the following qualifications:
• 3-time or 4-time first-team All-Centennial performer
• 2-time Centennial Conference Player of the Year
• 1st team All-America AND 2-time first-team All-Centennial performer
• 2-time All-America (1st, 2nd or 3rd team)

For individual sports such as swimming and track and field, the accomplishments must have occurred in the same event.

Forty-six athletes were named to the Silver Anniversary team in women's outdoor track and field.

Among those honorees was the Green Terror's Kerry Wilson '00, Jamie Falcone '01 and Kristy Costa '06. Wilson was a three-time conference champion in the 100 hurdles, winning the title in 1997, 1998 and 1999. She also won the 400 hurdles in 1997. Falcone was a three-time CC champion in the 100 meters (1999, 2000, 2001) and 200 meters (1999, 2000, 2001). She was also the Outstanding Performer of the Meet in 2000 and was an All-American in the 100 the same season. Costa won the heptathlon at the conference championship in 2004 and 2005 and was tabbed the Most Outstanding Performer of the Meet in 2004 and 2005.

The purpose of the Centennial Conference is to provide for athletic competition among institutions that share high academic aspirations and are committed to the importance of the total educational experience for students engaged in sports. Its full-time members include Bryn Mawr, Dickinson, Franklin & Marshall, Gettysburg, Haverford, McDaniel, Muhlenberg, Swarthmore, Ursinus and Washington Colleges, along with Johns Hopkins University.

The Conference was founded in 1981 as the Centennial Football Conference and began competition as an all-sports conference in the fall of 1993. The Conference crowns champions in 24 sports.