Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Franklin & Marshall topples McDaniel

Jesse Mills © 2010 David Sinclair/McDaniel College
Jesse Mills © 2010 David Sinclair/McDaniel College

Diplomats win first seven events for victory

LANCASTER, Pa. – Zach Wilt won twice to lead Franklin & Marshall to a 109-54 victory over McDaniel in Centennial Conference (CC) men's swimming action on Friday.

Ten different individual were victorious for the Diplomats (2-6, 2-1 CC), who won the first seven events of the meet to secure their second win of the year.

Jesse Mills (Catonsville, Md./Mt. St. Joseph) and Bryan Nuckles (Suffolk, Va./Nansemond-Suffolk Academy) led the Green Terror (0-5, 0-5 CC) with individual wins.

Wilt teamed with David Fell, Travis Catania and Patrick Musselman for a victory in the 200 medley relay, opening the meet with a time of 1:43.32.

Wilt later touched first in the 100 butterfly with a time of 55.99 seconds.

Mills was victorious in the 500 freestyle (5:44.53) while Nuckles won the 100 breaststroke (1:08.09).

Jono Leafblad (Garnee, Ill./Warren Twp.), Morgan DeHart (Salisbury, Md./Wicomico), Chris Steinheimer (Monrovia, Md./Urbana) and Jason Harder (Philadelphia, Pa./Pennington) closed the meet with a victory in the 200 free relay (1:38.78).

The Green Terror returns to action at home against Elizabethtown on Wednesday. Meet time is 6 p.m.

Franklin & Marshall 109, McDaniel 54

Event Winners: 200 Medley Relay – Franklin & Marshall A (David Fell, Travis Catania, Zach Wilt, Patrick Musselman) 1:43.32; 400 IM – Tim Landon (F) 4:26.66; 200 Freestyle – Jake Reingold (F) 1:49.61; 50 Freestyle – Dave Apple (F) 22.67; 100 Butterfly – Wilt (F) 55.99; 100 Freestyle – Tommy Bergstrom (F) 49.59; 100 Backstroke – Conor Finnegan (F) 55.51; 500 Freestyle – Jesse Mills (M) 5:44.53*; 100 Breaststroke – Bryan Nuckles (M) 1:08.09*; 200 Freestyle Relay – McDaniel A (Jono Leafblad, Morgan DeHart, Chris Steinheimer, Jason Harder) 1:38.78*.

* Franklin & Marshall swam event as exhibition.